Hair density vs hair texture

Hi hair lovers!!

 

When I started my hair journey, while I was transitioning I was very eager to see what my hair type was. Ever since I had my last relaxer in June 2014 my hair has changed so many times, making the journey extremely challenging because what works for you this month might not work work for your hair in 3 – 4 months time. In the hair community it is believed that once you know your hair type then maintaining will be a breeze. I then realised that I have 4C on my crown and 4B on my nape.

I was then so excited for the discovery, in my mind I thought 4c means very dense hair. During my relaxer days my hair was thin which was my main reason of returning to my natural hair. I then realised that 4C doesn’t necessarily mean thick hair. I went to my mobile school and researched more about 4c hair I then came across the difference between density and texture.

Hair Density:

Density refers to how closely those strands are packed together on your head, and its affected by your hair texture, porosity and width.

The most accurate way to determine hair density is to have someone count the number of strands growing in a 1″x1″ area of your scalp. But since the average person has about 2,200 strands of hair per square inch, it can take some time to count them all. Fortunately, there are other ways you can determine your hair density.

Start with dry hair, because hair that’s wet will often look thinner than it really is. Let your hair hang loose in its natural, unparted shape and look at it closely from all different angles. If you can see your scalp very easily, then you have low hair density. If you can see some of your scalp, you have medium hair density. If your scalp is difficult or impossible to see, then you have high hair density.

Hair Texture:

Regardless of the type of hair that grows out of our heads we all have 3 textures, thick, medium, and fine. We can get our texture by using the thread idea; if your hair is fine, it’s thinner than the thread, medium hair is usually the same width and thick or coarse strands are thicker than the piece of thread.

With all the information it is easy now to work with my hair because I now know that I have hair that is fine and the my hair density is medium. Now with medium density I am able to use creams and butters. I have also noticed that my hair is very fragile due to it being fine. One thing I have noticed which for me is downfall I cannot seem to keep my twistouts, bantu knotouts or any other style for longer even with my trusted Cantu coconut curling cream.

 

How has your hair texture and density affected your product usage?

Love NKM