Wash day

January WashDayExperience Link Up Themes

Hi hair lovers!!

 

This weekend I finally did the henna and Indigo treatment. The henna treatment I last used in July last year, so I used it as something old, while the indigo is my very first time using it it will fall under something new. Remember I bought the indigo in December from Natural Moisture.

Before I start I want to share with y’all the benefits of these two powders.

 

IMG_20160116_070454[1]

Henna benefits:

There are many benefits of using henna for a healthy hair and it is one of the best natural remedies for hair growth. Henna is a good source for people who wants to get rid of their grey hair, and for people who are allergic to chemical dyes. Henna is a very good conditioner for your hair.

Most healthy hair enthusiasts use Henna for protecting hair from sun and dust. Henna can make your hair strong and nourish it from roots for a silky and shiny hair. It also makes hair glossy, healthy and voluminous, repairs the damaged hair strands and also shields it from further damage by forming a coating on it.

Indigo benefits:

It is a natural dye, it is considered safe for those with chemical sensitivities and during pregnancy or while nursing. Indigo applied over henna treated hair makes a lush black hair color, adds richness, shine, and texture. It is also non drying. The best of all is that you can even colour your clothes with it as well.

What you will need:

2 -4 Tbsp henna

Water

Olive oil

Essential oil of choice

3 Tbsp Apple cider vinegar

 

100g indigo

water

salt

 

20160116_074300[1]

I washed my hair with the African black soap.

I mixed the henna to the consistency of yogurt. I did not let it sit for hours, I applied it on my hair immediately. I let it sit on my hair for 3 hours before rinsing. Some naturals prefer to leave it on until the next day like Ms D from 6FootLong Hair.

20160116_110153[1]

Before rinsing out the henna I mixed the indigo also to a yogurt consistency, and let it sit for 10-15 minutes.

20160116_111732[1]

I applied in on my hair and waited another 2 hours for the dye to release.

After rinsing I applied the Cantu leave in and the DIY Shea butter mix the recipe I got from Sandra of Naija girl next door.

The results were awesome my fine hair was now thick and voluminous.

20160117_160205[1]

Have you tried the henna and indigo treatment?

Love

NKM

The #washdayexperience badge (2015)

 

12 thoughts on “Wash day

  1. Ahhh Im huge fan of henna but I don’t care for Indigo. It didn’t do what i expected when I mixed it with henna. then when I did a two step process, it took FOREVER to get the Indigo powder out of my hair. Never again

    Like

Leave a Reply

