To Biotin, or not to Biotin?

GNC Live Well

GNC Live Well

Hi Hair lovers!!!

The question frequently asked in the healthy hair environment is that should one use supplements such as Biotin to help with hair grow? Now before we dwell more on the question it is important for us to know why, and when should these kind of supplements be used.

 

What is Biotin?

According to healthline; Biotin, or vitamin H is a water-soluble vitamin that’s a part of the complex B vitamins. It helps the body metabolize fats and carbohydrates, biotin has been linked to improved hair health and maintaining proper functions of the nervous system.

Biotin acts as a co-enzyme in the body that’s needed for the metabolism of fatty acids, amino acids and glucose. This means that when we eat foods that are sources of fats, proteins and carbohydrates, vitamin B7 biotin must be present in order to convert and use these macronutrients for bodily energy, to carry out physical activities and for proper psychological functioning.

There are a number of companies which have added biotin in theirs hair and skin beauty products, although it’s believed to not be absorbed very well through the skin and actually must be ingested to be fully beneficial.

 

How much is enough biotin?

Between 30 and 100 mcg per day of biotin is often recommended for adolescents and adults (huffingtonpost). There are certain foods which gives us the minimum allowance which are eggs, organ meats, nuts, cauliflower and mushrooms to mention a few.

When should Biotin be used?

  • Biotin is used for preventing and treating biotin deficiency associated with pregnancy, long-term tube feeding, malnutrition, and rapid weight loss.
  • It is also used orally for hair loss, brittle nails, skin rash in infants (seborrhea dermatitis), diabetes, and mild depression.
  • There is some evidence that diabetes could result in biotin deficiency.

Reference: WebMD

What are the side effects of Biotin?

  • Most people who have used product which are high in Biotin have complained about cystic acne on the chin and jaw line.
  • Other biotin side effects are increased growth of facial hair and fine body hairs, which can be unpleasant especially for women.

What to do when these effects occur?

  • Discontinue immediately and consult your doctor,
  • drink plenty of water to reduce the risk of developing cystic acne.
  • doctors recommend that you begin the regimen at a lower dose with gradual increase as this gives your body time to adapt to the supplements

Would you use it?

  • I think it all depends on a persons needs, if your hair is thinning i would use it with the correct hair regimen.
  • We should always remember that a good well balanced nutrition plays an important role in the overall health of our skin and hair.
  • We must consume at least 2litres of water a day.

What it your take on using supplements for hair growth?

Love

NKM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

46 thoughts on “To Biotin, or not to Biotin?

  1. I think people should take supplements when they know their diet isn’t that great. I believe our food should serve up what we need most but then for those things we don’t get much of in our foods (like biotin), supplements are good.
    I took Hairfinity for 6 months. Useless

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your hair will tell you when you need biotin. I took it a long time ago and stopped because I did not need it anymore. Now I am taking it again. My acne is on my forehead, though. Once you start seeing acne, that means you either don’t need it anymore, or you are not drinking enough water, like you said. That was such a fun read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I take supplements, but honestly, they work best if you are also on a healthy diet and exercising regularly. When I did all three is when I started seeing a (good) difference in my hair’s length and thicknness

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do like taking biotin and other hair supplements. I’d guess that it’s because it kind of feels like a security blanket, especially as there’s no long period in my natural journey that I haven’t taken biotin. Something that I really like is Viviscal (even though it gets pricey). I started using it for a thinner area near my crown that is prone to breakage, I think it filled it in well, so I continue to use it with Biotin.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m actually considering this. There’s this part of my hair at the back of my head that just grows slower and is thinner than the rest of my head. but i want to try working out and t44z first. if that doesn’t work, then i’m going on the pill.

    Mvumikazi | Urban Mnguni |

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello,

    I love your blog it is very informative. I’ve been thinking about it mainly because my natural hair role model uses it but I am skeptical because I am breastfeeding. I wouldn’t want any side effects on my son.

    Thanks. God Bless you sis.

    Neemahjoel.com

    Love,
    Neemah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

